Our People

Our Executive Members head each of our collection sites across Australian and oversee strategic and operational direction of the APCB. Each of our executive members were instrumental in setting up the APCB as they contributed their ‘in-house’ biospecimens to form a National BioResource and actively sought and gained funding to expand the APCB.

  • Professor Judith ClementsDistinguished Professor Judith Clements is the Executive Chair of the APCB. Judith is the Queensland Node Head of the APCB, a NHMRC Principal Research Fellow, Program Leader of the Queensland University of Technology Cancer Research Program and Scientific Director of the Australian Prostate Cancer Research Centre, Queensland. Since 1997 Professor Clements has also led the Cancer Research Program at QUT, which aims to more clearly understand the molecular and cellular basis for the development, progression, and metastasis of prostate and other cancers such as breast, ovary, endometrial and lung. Professor Clements personal research over the past 20 years has focused on mechanistic and translational studies of the role of the current biomarker for prostate cancer, prostate specific antigen (PSA), and the related kallikrein serine peptidases in prostate cancer in order to determine their potential as therapeutic targets and/or clinical markers of disease progression.
  • 04_Gail_Risbridger_white_high_323318Professor Gail Risbridger is the Victorian Node Head of the APCB and is also the Director of the Prostate and Breast Cancer Research Program at Monash University, Melbourne, Victoria. Professor Risbridger is a career academic and researcher who has spent over 20 years understanding the endocrinology of male reproductive tract organs, especially the testis and prostate gland. Professor Risbridger leads an internationally recognised research team of investigators working on prostate cancer and andrology related projects and currently holds the position of Deputy Dean, Special Projects and Chair for Research, Centres and Institutes. Professor Risbridger has particular research interests in the biology of the stromal-epithelial cell interactions in normal and tumour tissue and has pioneered the use of stem cells for recombination studies combining stem cell biology with endocrinology.
  • 58252 Lisa Horvath P_17865AProfessor Lisa Horvath is the New South Wales Node Head and is also the the Head of the Department of Medical Oncology (Royal Prince Alfred Hospital) at the Sydney Cancer Centre. Associate Professor Horvath has an active clinical practice and is involved with a large number of clinical trials in prostate, lung and colorectal cancers in addition to phase I trial work. Associate Professor Horvath research interest is predominantly on tissue biomarkers of prognosis in localised prostate cancer but since returning to clinical practice, her research has focused more on drug resistance in hormone-refractory prostate cancer.
  • Professor Wayne Tilley is the South Australian Node Head of the APCB and is also the Director of the Dame Roma Mitchell Cancer Research Laboratories, at the University of Adelaide. Professor Tilley has developed a research program on hormone action in breast and prostate cancer, and played an integral role in the development of the Adelaide Prostate Cancer Research Centre and the Freemasons Foundation Centre for Men’s Health. Professor Tilley’s laboratory has made major contributions to understanding the molecular mechanisms of resistance to hormonal therapies used in the treatment of prostate cancer  and a current major research focus is the development of new treatments for prostate cancer that target the androgen receptor.
  • ButlerL_photoAssociate Professor Lisa Butler is a Senior Research Fellow in the Dame Roma Mitchell Cancer Research Laboratories and is nationally and internationally recognised for her work on prostate cancer molecular and cellular biology. Associate Professor Butler’s expertise is in the areas of hormonal carcinogenesis, preclinical studies and models of cancer and molecular therapeutics and a major focus of current collaborations is the development of more sensitive models that better represent human cancer, and for testing novel therapeutic approaches.
  • reneaDr Renea Taylor is a Research Fellow in the Department of Physiology at Monash University. Dr Taylor is an early career basic researcher with a broad background in endocrinology and prostate cancer biology and is a member of the Prostate Cancer Research Group at Monash University. Dr Taylor’s specific training and expertise are in several key research areas including stromal-epithelial interactions, tumour microenvironment, steroid receptor biology and developmental biology.
  • Vale Professor Rob Sutherland FAA AO (1947-2012) established the New South Wales Node Head of the APCB. Professor Sutherland was Director of the Cancer Research Program at the Garvan Institute of Medical Research for 27 years, inaugural Director of The Kinghorn Cancer Centre and Senior Principal Research Fellow of the National Health and Medical Research Council. Professor Sutherland established one of Australia’s most successful cancer research programs, initially in the fields of breast and prostate cancer but later diversifying into many other solid cancers. Professor Sutherland will be missed by his colleagues and friends from the APCB.

The BioResource Management Committee (BMC)

The BMC was established to develop and implement the strategic and operational direction of the APCB. The committee composition is multidisciplinary and covers all nodes and state interests and is therefore considered national and international Best Practice. BMC members include the executive committee listed above along with the following members:

  • Dr Kris Rasiah-Consultant Urologist at the Royal North Shore Hospital, Sydney, NSW.
  • Associate Professor Frank Gardiner- Consultant Urologist at the Royal Brisbane Hospital and the University of Queensland, Brisbane, QLD.
  • Mr John Stead– Consumer Representative, QLD.
  • Associate Professor  Jyotsna Batra– Senior Research Fellow, Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane, QLD.


The APCB Tissue Access Committee (TAC)

The TAC was established to oversee applications for access to biospecimens from the APCB repository. All full applications for biospecimen access much be approved by the TAC before samples are distributed from the APCB to researchers.

  • Associate Professor James Kench– Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Sydney, Pathology Representative, NSW.
  • Dr Gianluca Severi– Cancer Council Victoria, Melbourne, Biostatistics Representative
  • Dr Grant Buchanan– University of Adelaide, Molecular Biology Representative, SA.
  • Dr Elizabeth Williams– Melbourne University, Cell Biology Representative, VIC.
  • Dr Kate Mahon– Sydney Cancer Centre, Sydney, Medical Oncology Representative, NSW.
  • Dr Niall Corcoran– Royal Melbourne Hospital, Melbourne, Urology Representative, VIC.